Prime Minister congratulates Puntland on election of new Speaker of Parliament** Minister Abdiweli Sheikh Ahmed congratulates Puntland State of
Somalia on the election of a new Speaker and two Deputy Speakers of the Puntland
Parliament. The Speakers were elected by the 66 MPs of the Puntland Parliament and
will serve a term of five years.

The Prime Minister, said: “I welcome these elections and want to congratulate
the new Speaker, Saeed Hassan Shire, and his two Deputy Speakers, Abdihamid Sheik
Abdisalam and Hussein Yassin Diriye, on their election by Puntland MPs. They now
have a duty to serve both the Puntland Parliament and people of Puntland but also
greater Somalia.

“The improved security and stability in Puntland have provided the safe
environment for these elections to take place.

“Puntland is leading the way on the development towards a federal Somalia and
the country is looking to them at this important moment in our nation’s
history. I urge and encourage Puntland to ensure that the Presidential elections
are peaceful, free, fair and transparent.

“I wish all candidates in the upcoming elections good luck and look forward to
working with the newly elected President of Puntland State.&rdquo