CECAFA:Tanzania crowned Africa Women’s Championship winner 2016 * Mareeg.com somalia, World News and Opinion.
Mareeg Media

CECAFA:Tanzania crowned Africa Women’s Championship winner 2016

Tanzania women’s national football team [Kilimanjaro Queens] have won the inaugural edition of CECAFA women’s championship after beating Kenya’s Harambee Starlets 1-2 in a tightly-competed final match on Tuesday.

Mwanahamisi Omari [No 7] and Stumai Abdalla [No 8] scored the golden goals for Tanzania in the 26th and 44th minutes of the match ending the first half 2-0 for Tanzania. Christine Nafula [No 6] netted the lone goal for Kenya just three minutes after the start of the second half.

However, Harambee Starlets who will represent the CECAFA region in the 2016 Africa women’s cup of Nations Cameroon, tried hard and made numerous attempts, but failed to equalize. The Kenyans lost several scoring opportunities.

Meanwhile, earlier on the day, Lucy of Ethiopia humiliated hosts Uganda’s Crested Cranes by 4-1 in the play-off match to clinch the 3rd place of the tournament.

Only five minutes after kick off, Hasifa Nassuna [N 10], scored a goal for the Ugandans, but ten minutes later Ethiopian striker Erhima Zeregaw [No9] equalized.

Zeregaw doubled a minute to the end of the first half before completing a hat-trick in the 69th minute, while Losa Abera [No 7] bagged the 4th goal for Ethiopia in the 79th minute.

Shafi’i Mohyaddin Abokar
CECAFA Media Committee Member

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Mareeg.com somalia, World News and Opinion.